Wednesday, April 15, 2009

Texas Rangers Not-So-Fun-Facts

* The Texas Rangers have appeared in only 7 postseasons since the expansion franchise was founded in Washington DC in 1961 and named the (new) Washington Senators, and that's only if you include the one game playoff against the O's in 2012 (which the Rangers lost).  The new Senators moved to Arlington in 1972 and were renamed the Rangers.  And don't confuse this franchise with the much older, different franchise that went by the name of the Washington Senators who packed up their bags and moved to Minnesota and became the Twins in 1960.

* Even though the Rangers made the playoffs 3 times in the 90's (in 1996, 1997 and 1999) they only managed ONE playoff win in those series, all against the Yankees and of course never advanced past the ALDS.

* The Texas Rangers have not had a 20 game winner since 1998 (Rick Helling won his 20th decision on 9/22/1998).

* The Texas Rangers have only had three 20 game winners (Ferguson Jenkins in 1974, Kevin Brown in 1992 and Rick Helling in 1998).  Yeah, in other words no 20 game winners in this millennium.

* The Texas Rangers have NEVER had a pitcher on its roster win the Cy Young award in the franchise's history.

* The Texas Rangers have only had one rookie win the "Rookie of the Year Award", Mike Hargrove in 1974, and are the MLB franchise that has gone the longest since having a player win the award.

* The Texas Rangers have only won 4 postseason series since the franchise was founded in 1961.  Those four (4) series were won in 2010 and 2011.

* The Texas Rangers lost 2 straight World Series in 2010 and 2011.  In 2011 the Texas Rangers were twice two outs and two strikes away from winning the World Series in game 6 only to go on to lose the 2011 World Series in game 7.

0 comment(s) regarding this post:

When Last We Left Our Boys of Summer...

Older TTRB Stuff

Powered by Blogger.

  © Blogger templates Newspaper III by 2008

Back to TOP